Remove or Replace Receipts on Expenses

Remove or Replace Receipts on Expenses

The Transactions screen allows users to remove or update receipts for expenses that have a status of Denied, Submitted, or Approved. The method varies depending on the status of the expense.

Denied Expenses

Before you can remove or replace a receipt on a denied expense, you must resubmit the expense.

  1. Click the Personal tab, then click on Transactions and select Denied.
  2. Click More actionsMore Actions on the desired expense, then click Edit& Resubmit. 

    Denied Transactions list with More Actions menu showing Edit and Resubmit

  3. On the Edit Expense Details pane, click Resubmit. The expense will be moved to the Submitted tab. 

    Edit Expense Details pane with Resubmit button

  4. Now follow the steps for Submitted Expenses, below, to remove or replace receipts.

Submitted Expenses

To replace a receipt, first delete the existing one, then attach the replacement.

If your company has a receipt-requirement rule, you will need to add the replacement receipt before deleting the original receipt.

  1. Click the Personal tab, then click Transactions and select Submitted.
  2. Click on the expense for which you need to remove or replace the receipt.

    Submitted expense selected with receipt thumbnail in Expense Details pane

  3. If your organization has a receipt-requirement rule, click the blue plus button in the Expense Details pane to attach a replacement receipt before you delete the existing receipt. Otherwise, skip to Step 4.

    Expense Details pane with blue plus button to attach a replacement receipt

  4. In the Expense Details pane, hover over the thumbnail image that appears above the Progress section and click the DeleteTrash button, or click the DeleteTrash button that appears on the image viewer.

    Receipt thumbnail with Trash button on hover in Expense Details pane

  5. On the Delete Receipt pop-up, click Delete. 

    Deleted receipts cannot be recovered. Be sure to save a copy of all required receipts before they are deleted.

    Delete Receipt confirmation dialog with Delete button

  6. To replace the deleted receipt, click Upload a Receipt or Browse Receipts on the pop-up.
  • You will be able to edit the expense details after uploading a receipt. 

If you only needed to delete the receipt, click the X to exit.  

Expense Details pane after receipt deletion with no receipt attached

Approved Expenses

To replace a receipt, first attach the replacement, then delete the existing receipt.

  1. Click the Personal tab, then click Transactions and select Completed.
  2. Click on the expense for which you need to replace the receipt.

    Submitted expense selected with receipt thumbnail in Expense Details pane

  3. Click the blue plus button in the Expense Details pane to attach a replacement receipt before you delete the existing receipt. In the drop-down, click From Computer or From Gallery to select the replacement receipt.

    Expense Details pane with blue plus button to attach a replacement receipt

  4. In the Expense Details pane, hover over the thumbnail image of the old receipt and click the DeleteTrash button, or click the DeleteTrash button that appears on the image viewer when the old receipt is displayed.

    Receipt thumbnail with Trash button on hover in Expense Details pane

  5. On the Delete Receipt pop-up, click Delete. 

    Deleted receipts cannot be recovered. Be sure to save a copy of all required receipts before they are deleted.

    Delete Receipt confirmation dialog with Delete button

Was this article helpful?