Manage Users on the People Screen
The People screen allows administrators to manage their teams in Emburse Spend. Admins can invite new users, organize users into groups, adjust user permissions, and deactivate accounts.
Access the People Screen
Select the Admin tab in the Emburse Spend sidebar.
Select People.
Any user you add to Emburse Spend displays on the People screen.
Use the filters and search bar at the top of the screen to locate members who meet your criteria.
Invite Users to Emburse Spend
To invite users to your company's Emburse Spend account, start on the People screen and select Invite in the top right corner. For invitation options, see Add New Users to Emburse Spend.
Do not invite users until their email address is set up and confirmed operational. Inviting a user too early adds the address to the suppressions list and blocks Emburse Spend from delivering email to that user. See FAQ: Why Are Users Not Receiving Emails? for more details.
Do not change a user's email address after you send an invitation. Sent invitations cannot be updated; you must delete the pending invitation and invite the user again with the correct address.
If the email address on a pending invitation is incorrect, delete the invitation and invite the user again:
- On the People screen, select the
Trash button to the right of the user's name to delete the pending invitation.
- Invite the user again using the correct email address.
Edit a User's Profile
Select the Pencil button next to a user's name to view their profile.
On a user's profile, you can:
- Assign them a role as an Admin, Manager, or Member, which determines their permissions in Emburse Spend.
- Allow them to approve expenses.
- Add the person who should review their expenses in the Managed By field.
- Add any delegates who should have access to submit expenses on their behalf.
- Edit their Team Fields, which allow you to track additional information about each employee and associate that information with the expenses they submit.
All of a manager's assigned employees must be removed before they can be downgraded to a member in Emburse Spend. See FAQ: How Do I Downgrade a Manager to a Member?
Bulk Edit Profiles
Admins can select multiple people to edit profiles in bulk. Bulk actions include granting admin status, assigning or changing managers, deactivating accounts, and editing Team Fields.
- To perform a bulk action, check the boxes next to the desired users and then select
Edit.
- Check the boxes to the left of any of the fields you would like to update for all the selected users.
- Update the field and select Save.
Check Users' Bank Account Status
Connected bank account status applies only when your organization uses Emburse Spend reimbursement payments that require employee bank accounts. If your organization does not use this payment method, you can skip this section.
Individual Users
To view an individual user's bank account status, select them in the list on the People screen to open their user profile. Their bank account status displays at the top of the profile.
All Users
To view all the users who do or do not have a connected bank account, select Advanced Filters at the top of the People screen.
In the Connected Bank drop-down, select Yes or No to filter users with or without a connected bank account. Then select Apply.
Deactivate a User
If you deactivate a user in Emburse Spend, they will no longer have access to their account. However, if they have outstanding expenses that have not been reimbursed, they can still be paid as long as their Emburse Spend account still has a connected bank account.
Before you deactivate a manager, you should reassign or approve any expenses or card requests assigned to them for approval and assign new managers to their employees. See How Do I Deactivate a Manager? for complete details.
On the People screen, select the Trash Can button to the right of the user's record.
Pending Users
If the user you wish to deactivate has not yet activated their account, confirm that you would like to delete the invitation.
Active Users
If the user has already activated their account, you may choose to deactivate the user immediately or set a deactivation date. Then select Deactivate.
Reactivate a Deactivated User
To view deactivated employees on the People screen, set the Status filter to Deactivated.
- To reactivate a deactivated user, select
Edit to the right of the user's record.
- On the Edit User Profile screen, select Reactivate.
- After the user is reactivated, they must log in to Emburse Spend using their previous password.
If they do not remember their previous password, they can trigger a password reset at any time by selecting the Forgot Password? link on the login screen.